kudoz pre schools

Understanding the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), is a statutory framework that sets universal standards for learning, development and care for children from 0–5 years. At its core, it recognises that all children are unique and that learning and development must be planned around each child’s individual needs and interests.

The EYFS acknowledges that children develop at their own rates and that they learn through being:

  • Active
  • Playing and exploring
  • Creating and thinking critically

These are described as Characteristics of Effective Learning.

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children, aged 0-5, to achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes of

  • staying safe,
  • being healthy,
  • enjoying and achieving,
  • making a positive contribution,
  • and achieving economic wellbeing.

The EYFS framework gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children. It supports an integrated approach to early learning and care.

The Reggio Emilia Approach to Learning

Founded by Loris Malaguzzi (1920-1994) in the city of Reggio Emilia, northern Italy, the Reggio Emilia approach was developed for municipal child-care and education programmes, assisting children below six years of age. The approach involves children to be seen as competent, resourceful, curious, imaginative and inventive learners. Children learn and develop through an intrinsic desire to play, explore, create, interact and communicate. The Reggio Approach is a multifaceted method that respects and puts into practice many of the fundamental aspects of the works of theorists such as, Dewey, Piaget, Vygotsky and many others. It is an approach that lends itself to the collaboration among children, teachers and parents and the co-construction of knowledge, social learning and the role of society.